Mbali Vibes wins 2023 Smirnoff Shaya Ingoma female DJ search competition

by admin

South Africa’s next great female DJ has been revealed as Mbali Monica Hlongwane, who goes by Mbali Vibes, after being crowned the winner of the Smirnoff 1818 Shaya Ingoma Top 10 Female DJ Search 2023.

This, following months of tough competition from Mzansi’s talented female DJs, with the number of contenders being shortened to the Top 10 during mid-December before selecting the skhokho of the decks on the 31st December 2022.

The gruelling selections were done by the three esteemed judges, namely DJ ‘Pruluv’ Prudence Mathebula from Metro FM – a renowned DJ in her own right; along with DJ Slender ‘The Dancing DJ’ from KwaZulu-Natal and the godfather of South African house and kwaito music – the legendary Oscar Mdlongwa known as Oskido.

Mbali Vibes who hails from Soweto in Protea Glen won the competition by receiving over 6 million votes via

Her prize winnings include R50 000 in cash, DJ equipment valued at R50 000, a trip to the MIAMI Winter Music Festival 2023 valued at more than R300 000, PR profiling for three months to build her profile nationally and internationally along with opportunities to DJ at Smirnoff 2023 event and the title of Smirnoff Shaya Ingoma FDJ winner.

“This has truly been an amazing experience and it was fantastic to meet such a phenomenal range of DJing talent from across the country. I am humbled and really honoured to emerge as the winner of this year’s competition. Thanks to Smirnoff 1818 for providing a platform such as this to unearth and profile Mzansi’s top tier female DJ talent,”

says Hlongwane.

Each of the other Top 10 finalists don’t walk away empty handed either, as they will receive R25 000 in cash, DJ equipment to the value of R15 000 each as well as PR profiling.

See the names of these Top 9 contenders below, in no particular order:

  1. Katleho Mokhethi (Bina Binnz)
  2. Nonkululeko Peaceful Sikhosana (Lekouh_S)
  3. Samkelisiwe Zondo (LadySam)
  4. Tintswalo Moira Mabaso (Moira the DJ)
  5. Nomali  “DjNomali” Mokoena
  6. Botlhale Baitsiwe (Nia Brown)
  7. Nompumelelo Buthelezi (Dj Thabithabs)
  8. Tokologo Thabane (Diamond Guerilla)
  9. Mbali Mkwanazi (DJ Portia)

Related Videos

Leave a Comment